K-pop 2011 Review – Top K-pop Songs of 2011!

10 Jan

I know I haven’t posted in what seems like forever… I’m so busy with work that I don’t have too much time to devote to the blog anymore but I still love it! And love you for taking the time read it.

So I know I’m out by a couple of days but I wanted to quickly recap my favourite Korean songs of 2011. This year there has been some fantastic comebacks, some brilliant debuts and all kinds of amazing music. I definitely think 2011 was a vintage year for K-pop. My personal highlight has been the resurgence of the girl idol groups and, what I’ll refer to it as, the Winter Battle of the Girl Groups (narf!).

So, without further ado – here are my favourite songs from 2011 (in a rough kind of order).

T-ara – Roly Poly

For those that read this blog, you will know that T-ara are my favourite band. I’m a little sad that they don’t seem to have such a big fan base outside of Korea. The girls came back stronger than ever in 2011 with the release of their smash-hit, Roly Poly. Featuring a retro concept and disco beats – the song captured number one on many charts and has even become one of the biggest hits of the year.

The Roly Poly MV also marked the first in the lineof 10 minute+ MVs from the girls. The song was so popular that they’ve made a musical based around it! Their remix version, Roly Poly in Copacabana also proved to be hit. To date, Roly Poly is my third most played song of all time (behind Utada Hikaru’s Show Me Love and Adele’s Set Fire to the Rain; in fact if you combine plays with the remix it is my most listened to song).

Wonder Girls – Be My Baby

In the midst of the girl group comebacks, Wonder Girls returned with a hot new hit, Be My Baby. Featuring an MV similar to Beyonce’s Single Ladies, catchy choreography and a funky melody you’d think they were destined to hit the top spot, right? But there doubts. I had such doubts!

The girls had been away for what seemed like ages. Yes, they came back with 2 Different Tears in 2010 but it has been a couple of years since Nobody – their last fully promoted single in Korea. 2 years in pop music can be a lifetime. So many new groups had debuted in that time, and with the Girls away in America working on cracking the USA, some thought they might not do so well.

However, these fears were soon put to rest as they debuted on Korean music shows and started winning awards and much love from fans. I love the Wonder Girls – they are my joint second favourite group after T-ara.

Girls’ Generation – The Boys

Girls’ Generation cemented their place as the dominate girl group with the release of The Boys, their first international single (complete with a full English version). Whilst the song didn’t have as much impact on international charts it was a massive hit in Korea and continues to chart well.

KARA – Step

After setting the Oricon charts alight with their Japanese promotions, all eyes were on KARA as they made their Korean comeback. I love KARA – I love that they have a very distinct sound, I describe it as having a driving beat – their songs are easily identifiable with the strong percussion and focus on rousing choruses. I love them! In fact, Step, Mister and Honey are all some of my favourite songs.

2011 may have seen their Japanese promotions skyrocket but their Korean career looked like it may collapse at any minute. The beginning of the year saw much of the band embroiled in a heated contract controversy that saw a large backlash against the band.

However, the girls returned with much fanfare and their single, Step, went on to be a huge hit and one of my favourite songs of the year.

Trouble Maker – Trouble Maker

A late entry from Hyuna (4Minute) and Hyunseung (BEAST) – label mates of Cube Entertainment. Joining together to create one of the catchiest singles of 2011!

Leave a Reply

